LSVs are exempt from most federal safety standards that apply to motor vehicles, and they are not required to meet any criteria for vehicle crashworthiness. Each LSV must be equipped with headlamps, tail lamps, stop lamps, reflectors, mirrors, parking brake, windshield, and seat belts. States, not NHTSA, are responsible for regulating the operation of motor vehicles on public roads and for handling LSV titling and registration. Most states allow LSVs to attain speeds no greater than 25 mph on roadways with speed limits of no more than 35 mph. Three states (Connecticut, Mississippi, and Pennsylvania) do not have statutes allowing the use of LSVs on their public roads. Many states allow their departments of transportation or local jurisdictions to restrict the use of LSVs on their roads.
Many ask the following questions. On which roads are low-speed vehicles permitted? What is the top speed permissible for low-speed vehicles? In the State of Florida, the answers are: LSV’s are permitted to be operated on Florida roads with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less. LSV’s speed must not exceed a top speed of 25 mph.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a low-speed vehicle accident, call the TRIPP LAW FIRM – Personal Injury Law for an immediate FREE case evaluation.
Florida Injury Attorney G. Alan Tripp, Jr., and the INJURY LAW TEAM are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. CALL NOW to discuss your case (888) 392-LAWS (5297).
NO FEES or NO COSTS if NO RECOVERY. www.trippfirm.com